Everybody Struggles

Everybody Struggles

Starting my journey as an Outreachy Intern

·

2 min read

After getting accepted as an Outreachy intern,The first four weeks of the internship was quite challenging for me. I first felt reliefed because I was selected. but later on, fear started installing its self. So many questions began coming to my mind such as:

  1. Am I good enogh
  2. Will I be able to deliver
  3. What if I cant handle the tasks.

Since my Internship project consists of building a new mobile application based on an existing web application, I basically had to structure the files and make sure to write clean and reusable code which can be read and understood by others.

Doing this was quite a challange for me giving the fact that its open source so proper code structuring, management and layouting is very important and I was really scared that i wont be up to the task. Thanks to my awesome mentors and co-interns, The fear of not been up to the task gradually leaves. So far, I have been able to structure the project, work on some user and functional requirements, bring out mockups with figma and much more.

With time, I get to overcome this fear and the more I resolve issues, the more I feel confident to move forward.

I have come to learn that, I am not expected to be perfect and know everything but rather be open minded to learn new things, be patient to do research on what approach might be better in solving a particular problem and always ask questions to others whenever I am stucked on something.

And remember Hardwork gives birth to talent. Theres always room for improvement so dont be scared to failed but rather be ready to bounce back in cases of failure. Everyone struggles and all Senoirs started as Juniors so its normal to struggle with something.