Introducing Myself: My new adventure as an Outreachy intern

Introducing Myself: My new adventure as an Outreachy intern

ยท

3 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I still wake up every morning thinking it is a dream. On May 20th, 2022 the 66 Outrachy interns for the May to August 2022 round were announced and I happen to be among the 65 other people who were selected.

Who Am I?

I Am called Alice Ndeh a full stack javascript web and mobile app developer currently based in Buea, Cameroon. My tech stacks include HTML, CSS, JaveScript, NodeJs, ReactJs and React Native.

Aside from coding, I really enjoy playing games with family and friends and watching movies.

What Are My Core Values? Core values are important personality traits. Core values motivate you when you make decisions.

My core values are:โ€จ

  1. Authenticity : Authenticity is the art of being true to your own personality, values, and spirit, regardless of the pressure that you're under to act otherwise. I strongly believe that no matter the situation I am faced with, I always need to remain true to myself and to others. I don't fake a personality or behavior in other to please others or to portray something that I am not. No matter where I find myself, my identity and who I am will always reflect and show forward. As Zac Posen said:

    Don't worry about what's cool and what's not cool. Authenticity is what's cool.

2. Religion: Being a Christian, I've grown to practice the ethics and good morals from the bible because my Religion is not just something that was inculcated in me while growing up but it's my lifestyle. I genuinely enjoy spending time listening and learning to the Gospel of Christ Jesus and I as well respect the Religion and beliefs of others.

3. Honesty: Honesty is a value I really treasure.Honestly to myself and to others as well. No matter how hard it can be, it's very important to remain honest with one another. Being honest helps in building solid and long-lasting relationships among humans and it helps in creating a certain level of trust and a bond that will be hard to break.

What Is Outreachy and what motivated me to apply to Outreachy?

Outreachy is a program that offers a 3-month paid summer internship. Outreachy provides internships in open source and open science. Outreachy provides internships to people subject to systemic bias and impacted by underrepresentation in the technology industry where they are living.

A friend of mine spoke to me about Outreachy some years back and I was really interested because he mentioned it encouraged people who are new to open source to contribute and it was paid as well ๐Ÿ˜„. So that evening, I went home, got to the Outreachy website, and began reading about what it is, how applicants apply, what are the selection criteria, and how the whole contribution period works. Fast forward to today, I went through the process and got accepted to intern for Unstructured Studio during the internship period. It's going to be a really fun and pleasurable adventure.๐Ÿฅ‚

Credits: Cover Photo by needtofly on Pexels

ย